DUI South
 
 
Stockbridge Location
Brooklyn Pavilion
4340 North Henry Blvd., Suite 210
Stockbridge, Georgia 30281
Phone: 678-565-0046
Fax: 678-565-0047
 
 
McDonough Location
McDonough Town Center
35 Atlanta Street, Suite 4B
McDonough, Georgia 30253
Phone: 678-565-4200
Fax: 678-565-4222
 
Contact Us
(678) 565-4200 (English)
(678) 681-4421 (Spanish)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

DUI Law in Georgia

 
DUI South Sign in Georgia
 
Georgia law is straightforward when it comes to DUI citations. If the driver is over 21 and operating a normal vehicle, a BAC of .08 percent or higher will result in a DUI charge. If the driver is over 21 and operating a commercial vehicle, that number is reduced to .04 percent. If the driver is under 21, a BAC of .02 percent or higher will result in a DUI citation. Drunk driving is a serious offense and receiving a citation for a DUI can be stressful. Allow our friendly staff to assist you with your court mandated classes or by attempting to reduce points from your license.
 

DUI Convictions

 
DUI South DUI example in Georgia
 
A DUI conviction can have serious penalties in Atlanta, Georgia. First-time offenders are often faced with up to 180 days of license suspension as the result of a DUI conviction. A second DUI offense can lead to a suspension of up to one year with a third offense carrying a 5 year suspension. While the best course of action is clearly to never drive impaired, if you've been cited for DUI, our classes may be right for you.
 

Driving Under the Influence Laws

 
Alcohol limit of .08 limit in Georgia
 
It is illegal in Georgia to operate a motor vehicle while impaired or under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Field sobriety tests in Georgia are voluntary by law and were developed by law enforcement to assist officers in determining the level of impairment of drivers on the road. Poor performance during a field sobriety test may officially allow the officer the probable cause they need to arrest you if they believe you are driving impaired.
 

Controlled Substance and Marijuana Possession

 
Controlled substances not allowed while driving in Georgia
 
Simply possessing a controlled substance or marijuana in the state of Georgia while operating a motor vehicle can lead to serious penalties, including a DUI. Fees associated with reinstating a license will run $210, and many offenders will receive a limited driving permit.